2017 Award Recipients


MANY excellent nominations were received in each of the seven award categories for National Philanthropy Day® making the Award Committee’s job especially challenging this year. After careful deliberation, the Greater Cleveland Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals is pleased to announce the following 2017 Award Recipients:

Ray & Eleanor Smiley – Philanthropist Leadership Award
Nominated by: Shawna Whitlock, Notre Dame College

RPM International – Corporate Leadership Award
Nominated by: Melanie Shakarian, The Legal Aid Society of Cleveland

The Kent H. Smith Charitable Trust – Foundation Leadership Award
Nominated by: Sherri L. Bishop, Esq., University Hospitals 

Richard "Dick" Pogue – Outstanding Fundraising Volunteer
Nominated by: Sherri L. Bishop, Esq., University Hospitals

Youth Challenge – Youth Group in Philanthropy Award
Nominated by: Mary Sue Tanis, Youth Challenge 

Lauren Steiner – Outstanding Fundraising Professional 
Nominated by: Marge Zellmer

We want to thank the Awards Committee members for taking the time to carefully review the nominations and select this year’s honorees. We also want to thank every AFP member who submitted a nomination.    

Honor Roll of Philanthropy 2017

Cleveland Metroparks honors Don and Susan Johnson

Grants Plus honors the nonprofit organizations and funders across Greater Cleveland that enrich our community

Lake View Cemetery Foundation honors Cathy Shambaugh

OhioGuidestone honors Therese O'Donnell

PlayhouseSquare honors Playhouse Square Donors

The Cleveland Foundation Congratulates all 2017 Award Recipients

The MetroHealth Foundation honors Miguel and Denise Zubizarreta